## - 32 -

## 16. Convention Relating to the Distribution of Programme-Carrying Signals Transmitted by Satellite

Satellites Convention (Brussels, 1974)

## Status on March 27, 2024

State	Date on which State became party to the Convention
Armenia   Australia   Austrain   Bahrain   Benin   Bosnia and Herzegovina   Canada   Chile   Colombia   Colombia   Costa Rica   Croatia   El Salvador <sup>1</sup> Germany <sup>2</sup> Greece   Honduras   Italy <sup>2</sup> Jamaica   Kenya   Mexico   Montenegro   Morocco   Nicaragua   North Macedonia   Panama   Peru   Portugal   Qatar.   Republic of Korea   Republic of Moldova   Russian Federation   Rwanda   Serbia   Singapore   Slovenia   Switzerland	party to the Convention December 13, 1993 October 26, 1990 August 6, 1982 May 1, 2007 August 18, 2017 March 6, 1992 June 27, 2024 June 8, 2011 March 20, 2014 June 25, 1999 October 8, 1991 July 22, 2008 August 25, 1979 October 22, 1991 April 7, 2008 July 7, 1981 January 12, 2000 August 25, 1979 August 25, 1979 June 3, 2006 <sup>3</sup> June 30, 1983 August 25, 1979 November 17, 1991 September 25, 1985 August 7, 1985 March 11, 1996 July 12, 2023 March 19, 2012 October 28, 2008 January 20, 1989 <sup>4</sup> July 25, 2001 April 27, 1992 April 27, 2005 June 25, 1991 September 24, 1993
Togo Trinidad and Tobago <sup>5</sup> United States of America	June 10, 2003 November 1, 1996 March 7, 1985
Viet Nam	January 12, 2006

(Total: 40 States)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> With a declaration, pursuant to Article 2(2) of the Convention, the Salvadorian law does not set a limit on the length of authorization for the distribution of a programme-carrying signal and leaves it open for the owner of the programme to determine the length of authorization when granting the permit or authorization.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> With a declaration, pursuant to Article 2(2) of the Convention, that the protection accorded under Article 2(1) is restricted in its territory to a period of 25 years after the expiry of the calendar year in which the transmission by satellite has occurred.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Deposited declaration, on October 23, 2006, with effect from June 3, 2006, the date of State succession.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Date of accession by the Soviet Union, continued by the Russian Federation as from December 25, 1991.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> With a declaration, pursuant to Article 2(2) of the Convention, that the protection accorded under Article 2(1) is restricted in its territory to a period of 20 years after the expiry of the calendar year in which the transmission by satellite has occurred.